20th Anniversary Celebration

>20th Anniversary Celebration
20th Anniversary Celebration2020-04-01T11:02:27-06:00

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Format Change: CDF-Texas 20 Goes Virtual

Based on guidance from the World Health Organization and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, as well as current Harris County guidelines regarding large gatherings, we are disappointed to report that our 20th Anniversary Dinner Celebration Dinner is canceled. This very special gathering also included our Beat the Odds Scholarship Awards, and ultimately the safety and well-being of our scholars, donors, friends and guests is top priority, so in the best interest of all, we will modify to a Virtual Celebration.

The Virtual Celebration will allow us to recognize our amazing 2020 Beat the Odds Scholarship honorees with an online presentation of their awards the evening of Thursday, April 16th, so you will be able to view their video stories, which we know will bring great light and joy when we need it most. We are also setting up a feature to make it possible for viewers to support these students with college essentials as they head off to college — watch for more details on that!

This event is our only annual fundraiser and the proceeds support not only our Beat the Odds Scholarship program but all our work to support children and families across Texas. The cancellation of the in-person event does not change the need to support these deserving groups. Our attention now turns to assisting BTO scholars who have been sent home from college, many of whom don’t have the means to make a surprise plane reservation or perhaps the technology to continue their virtual at-home studies.

We hope you will keep Thursday, April 16, 2020, on your calendar and plan to be part of this important night for our students and our organization!

So Much to Celebrate

Our 2020 Beat the Odds Honorees: Sherrod, Michelle, Fatuma, Carolina, and Josue

Ways to Support

Sponsorships available

Many options and benefits for becoming a sponsor!

All proceeds will help support the vital programming of CDF-Texas and enable us to expand our relentless efforts to lift up the voices of children across the state.

Get Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Event Co-chairs

Melanie Gray & Mark Wawro                    Alexandra & David Pruner

2020 Host Committee

(in formation)

  • Jesus Acosta
  • Brenda and Tommy Atkins
  • Lan and Adele Bentsen
  • Tina Bentsen
  • Katy and Dan Burton
  • Pierce Bush
  • Kathryn Kase and Jeff Cohen
  • Greg and Brooke Caudell
  • Amy and J. Moises Cedillos
  • Tony Chase
  • Rachel Clingman
  • Morton A. Cohn
  • Valerie and Tracy Dieterich
  • Dr. Cheryl Fielding
  • The Honorable Lizzie Pannill Fletcher and Scott Fletcher
  • Ann and J. Kent Friedman
  • Mary Jane and Mike Gallagher
  • Cullen Gieselman
  • Eleanor Gilbane
  • Dagney and Carlos Gómez del Campo
  • Dr. Christopher Greeley
  • Dr. Shannon Guillot-Wright
  • Lindsay Holstead
  • Courtney Hopson
  • Jean and Rick Jenner
  • Jean and Greg Kenney
  • Maria and Jay Klein
  • Melanie Lawson and John Guess
  • Diana and J. Martin
  • Pinet and Jim McBride
  • Jeanne and John McDowell
  • Judith and David McGuire
  • Sherea McKenzie and Carl Poston
  • Amanda McMillian
  • Betty and Erich Mundinger
  • Dianna and Eddie Patterson
  • Angela and David Peterman
  • Marvin Pierre
  • Beverly and Jim Postl
  • Drs. Ben and Sharon Raimer
  • Regina Rogers
  • Debbie and Bill Stacy
  • Julie and Mike Taetz
  • Becca Cason Thrash and John Thrash
  • Phoebe and Bobby Tudor
  • Karyl M. Van Tassel
  • Andrea and Bill White
  • Kimberly Griffin Williams
  • Stuart Saxton Williams
  • Rev. Itang Hope Young
  • Karen and Alan Ytterberg

20th Anniversary Celebration Sponsors

You are leaving the CDF-TX site and being redirected to the National Children's Defense Fund website.